Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


You matter!

We need you. We believe that science requires teamwork and this is the reason why we created ScienceMatters not only to publish single observations, but also to crowdsource science.

ScienceMatters needs scientists like you as handling editors, reviewers, authors, readers and supporters. Join us and be part of this movement in bringing about a change in science publishing by signing up here.

Scientific Advisory Board

24 people from 8 countries
Prof. Thomas C. Südhof, M.D
Stanford University, Palo Alto, Nobel Prize 2013, Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board
Prof. Kai Simons
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany
Prof. John P. A. Ioannidis
Director of the Stanford Prevention Research Center, Co-Director, METRICS, Stanford University, Palo Alto
Prof. Rudolph E. Tanzi
Director, Genetics and Aging Research, Mass. General Hospital, Harvard University, Boston
Prof. Iva Tolić
Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb
Prof. Brian Nosek
Founder, Center for Open Science, Charlottesville
Prof. Michael Hengartner
President, University of Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Graham Warren
FRS, Scientific Director, Max F. Perutz Laboratories, Vienna
Dr. Paul Ayris
UCL Library Services & Copyright Officer, Chief Executive, UCL Press & Co-Chair, LERU Chief Information Officers, London
Prof. Victoria Stodden
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Prof. Satyajit Mayor
Director, National Center for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bangalore
Prof. Gisou van der Goot
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne
Prof. Anthony A. Hyman
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden
Dr. Krishna Vadodaria
Salk Institute for Biological Sciences, La Jolla
Prof. George Lake
Director, Institute for Computational Science, University of Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Michel Goedert
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge
Prof. Richard Hahnloser
Institute of Neuroinformatics, ETH University of Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Marcel Salathé
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne
Prof. Volker Haucke
Leibniz Institute for Molecular Pharmacology, Berlin
Prof. Daniel Wyler
Institute for Theoretical Physics, Ex-Vice President, University Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Stephen Curry
Imperial College London, UK
Prof. Paul Wouters
Professor of Scientometrics, Director, Center for Science and Technology studies, Leiden University, Leiden
Prof. Ernst Hafen
Deputy Head of Institute for Molecular Systems Biology, ETH Zurich
Prof. Effy Vayena
Institute of Biomedical Ethics, ETH Zurich

Editorial Board

If you would like to join our Editorial board, please click here.

Handling Editors

Reviewing Board of Editors


Prof. Dr. Lawrence Rajendran
Founder and CEO

Renowned Alzheimer scientist who is leading a lab of 10 people at the University of Zurich. Also, the founder of Raise. Rural, a non-profit organization for rural students to pursue research.

Show more
Ms. Isabelle Siegrist
Business Development

Business Graduate who started her career building businesses and advanced to being CIO (2 years), now in charge of financials and business development.

Show more
Mr. Andrew James Cook
VP Strategy and Operations

Had his first senior role in financial services and wealth management in Brussels in 2007, working in investment portfolio management for private clients, both Belgian and international. Passionate about technology and science from a non-scientist perspective, currently in charge of operations at ScienceMatters AG, working from the firm’s Barcelona office.

Show more
Prof. Dr. Jan Lötvall

Professor at the Institute of Medicine at Göteborg University since 2002, a medical specialist in both Clinical Allergy and Clinical During the period of May 2016 to January 2018, JL served as Chief Scientist at Codiak BioSciences, a startup biotech company located in Cambridge MA focusing on developing extracellular vesicles as a therapeutic platform.

Show more
Mr. Tejansh Chandole
Regional Editorial Director

Graduated with a bachelor’s in chemistry and subsequently pursued post-graduation in Inorganic Chemistry from the renowned Department of Chemistry, University of Pune. Four years of research experience in Chemical Sciences. Worked for ScienceMatters since the founding of the firm. His main contribution is from data management, platform testing, and making the editorial workflow more efficient.

Show more
Mr. Andreas Schaufelbühl
Software Engineer

Full Stack developer and blockchain researcher. Holds a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from the University of Zurich and is now completing his Master in the field of Blockchain Technology. The academical knowledge is completed with practical experience working in Migros Genossenschaftsbund as an Online Enigneer.

Show more
Vasileios Koukoutsas
Backend Engineer

DevOps engineer and a graduate student at the University of Zurich pursuing a Masters degree in Computer Science. Is a crypto-economics enthusiast and blockchain technology advocate.

Show more
Simon Müller
Backend Engineer

Backend Engineer and Blockchain researcher. Completed a bachelor's degree in Computer Science at the University of Zurich and is pursuing his Master in Information Systems, focusing on Blockchain Technology.

Show more
Claude Müller
Backend Engineer

Backend developer for ICOnator and Software Engineer by trade. Holds a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science and is now compelting his Master's degree at the University of Zurich in the field of Data Science and Cybersecurity

Show more